I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

17 months, 25 days

While brushing FrostedBaby’s teeth this morning I took a good look at the back of his mouth and I could see his two year molars! I’ve been looking for them for the past while since he’s been having what seem like teething symptoms on and off but hadn’t been able to see anything yet. They’re not in, but I can see the shape of them. I’m not sure if they’re through the gum yet, it was hard to get a really good look, but I don’t think they are. But! Soon! The end might be in sight! Not that it doesn’t take them forever to come in, but if they’re visible then it’s not as long as nothing happening.

And today he’s been much more cheerful and his usual self than he has been lately. There have been some whining and complaining over being told no and the typical toddler-of-this-age stuff, but it’s much more manageable when in general he’s a chipper guy rather than the whining and clinginess on top of the tantrums. (they’re not really tantrums yet, but it’s easier to say than anything else).

He’s decided to be brave and go up the stairs again, and now he’ll go down them as well although he prefers to try to come down face first (because this is less scary? who *is* this daredevil?) and throws a fit when I turn him around and then slides down half of them because he’s kicking his legs in protest. Weirdo.

We went sledding today for the first time. He really enjoyed going down, he liked coming back up (seriously, lugging a 25lb toddler plus a sled up the hill is a great workout; this kid needs to learn how to walk), and he hated everything else. He whined from the time the sled stopped, then threatened to cry when I set him down so I could get up and pick him and the sled up to walk back up the hill. He liked that part because I was holding him, then he’d threaten to cry when I put him down so I could sit properly on the sled, then he’d go from whining to smiling and making happy noises when he was in my lap and laughing on the way down, back to whining again. Lots of work for very little payoff, though the part where we were going downhill was fun for both of us 😛  It will be a lot better once he can walk, although whether he’ll be comfortable enough to not be held constantly by me, I’m not sure. He’s still young, but I hope he’ll learn to really enjoy it. I’m glad I didn’t try to send him down on his own though. I borrowed one of those round sleds from a friend and I’m glad I took that one instead of the baby sled where I wouldn’t have been able to go down with him. We weren’t out very long because the wind was in our faces and I got tired from lugging him around and it wasn’t enough laughing to counteract the whining, but it was fun. I’ve been waiting to go sledding with my kid for a long time and I’m excited for when he’s older and we can go together again. I love sledding.

I want Husband to get snowpants and we should go on a sledding date.

Leave a Reply

