I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

Take me out to the ballgame

We took FrostedBaby to his first baseball game today. It went really well, better than I had expected or had any right to hope.

He fussed a bit on the train going down, which made us worry that it was not going to be a good day. He wanted to crawl on the floor and wasn’t happy that he couldn’t. He was a bit better for a bit once the train started moving and he could look out the window and watch stuff go by, but we resorted to singing If You’re Happy And You Know It, which for some reason always quiets him down and makes him smile (and I’ve invented a whole bunch of verses about animals, which make him laugh) and then I nursed him and snuggled him and he looked like he might nap but the stopping and people getting on and off was too distracting, then he played with the stroller wheels and was laughing like crazy when I was putting his pacifier in his mouth and then taking it out. Why that’s funny, I have no idea, but it occupied him for a while 😛

We met up with my sister and grabbed some coffee with her at her store and killed some time, then met up with our friend with the tickets and went into the game. We got there just as the game was starting, which was great timing. It also happened to be his lunchtime and for once him taking a long time to eat was great because it occupied him for the first hour. He ate his whole english muffin pizza and a fruit leather.

After he finished eating I put on the carrier wrap that I borrowed from a friend (SO getting one of these!) and walked around with him. We made a loop of the Dome, which takes way less time than you’d expect and he was happy and cuddly although he was obviously getting sleepy so I changed his diaper and then nursed him and he fell asleep for about 30 or 40 minutes.

After he woke up, he was very cheerful and had his snack (cheese and another fruit leather) and then the game was coming to a very uneventful close and we decided to head out early to make sure we got the next train since they only run once an hour and I didn’t want to be waiting around trying to entertain him when it was getting late.

He was good on the way home, playing with the stroller wheels again and talking to people around us, and then eating Cheerios. We got home and he ran around on the floor for a bit, which he was very happy about, and ate a bit of dinner and then he went to bed really easily.

Towards the end of the game, some people behind us asked how old he is and said they couldn’t believe how well-behaved he was and they’d hardly heard a peep from him. Yes, that’s all because of my awesome parenting skills! I know it has nothing to do with anything I’m doing, but it makes me proud that he is so well-behaved and we get lots of comments like that.

It was a really nice day. We had good seats on the aisle (so I could get up and down as much as I needed to without bugging anyone) and there weren’t too many people around us so we could have some space and move around a bit, and we were in the shade so while it was a hot day, it wasn’t bad in the shade and we didn’t need to worry about sunscreen.

I didn’t get to watch as much of the game as I might have liked since I was focused on FrostedBaby, but my attention span is pretty limited anyway and I spend a lot of games people watching anyway. It wasn’t a terribly good game – the Jays played like a bunch of little leaguers. It was sort of exciting for about five seconds when it seemed like the other pitcher might be going for a perfect game, but right after I said I hoped he would because that’s really rare and at least something good would come out of the game, and then we got a hit.

So a very successful day and that makes me excited to do other things with him. Even a few months ago it would not have gone over very well – too much stimulation and excitement and loud noise (it didn’t help that the air show was going on so very loud airplanes were flying over occasionally), but he’s grown up a lot lately and can handle a lot of that stuff better than he used to.

Leave a Reply

