I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

5 months, 1 week, 6 days

We put up dark curtains in FrostedBaby’s room the other day since I’m wondering if the reason he doesn’t nap well in his crib during the day is because of it being too light in there. He naps great in my room where it is dark, but obviously I’m not huge on the idea of him sleeping in my bed unattended (not a problem if I’m napping too!) since he keeps looking like he’s going to start rolling from back to tummy. He has two windows in his room and one is on the side of the house where the sun comes in most of the day, so despite the blinds we have up it’s still quite bright in there. He had one nap in there so far, the day before yesterday morning, and he slept for an hour, which is amazing since usually I put him down and he’s up in 30 minutes or so. He didn’t get his afternoon nap there since we were at the coffee place with the moms group and he slept in my arms. Yesterday we were out all day so I didn’t get a chance to try it out. I put him down after he fell asleep while eating, but he’s in there talking instead of sleeping (he’s been down for ~25 minutes) so I’m not sure he’s tired enough to nap yet. He sleeps so long at night (he’s doing a 7-hour stretch followed by a 6-hour stretch these days) that I’m not sure he’s ready for a morning nap as soon as they say he should, but he was rubbing his eyes and then fell asleep on me so I’m not sure.

Oh, he just went quiet. He’s really good at putting himself to sleep so I usually know if he’s not asleep within half an hour or so, that he won’t be going to sleep. I’m so grateful for that; there are a lot of moms in the group who have terrible times getting their babies to sleep, both day and night. Joanna’s baby is up every hour and it sounds like it’s always been that way and she can’t figure out anything that works. I don’t know what she’s tried or if she’s being consistent, but yuck. When FrostedBaby goes through periods where he cries a lot I know I enjoy him a lot less than I normally do, so I cannot imagine that being your whole baby’s existence.

We got a new stroller on Monday, I think it was. The one we were given was a good one, but really heavy and big and wouldn’t fit in my trunk. Any time I wanted to use it, I had to balance the pros and cons of having to haul that thing around versus not, plus I had to keep it in the back seat which is not the safest or most convenient thing. Since he’s bigger and almost out of the bucket seat, I decided I wanted a better one (better one for my needs, at least) since once he’s in his big boy car seat I’ll be wanting to use a stroller more for getting around with him. We went to BRU and played with a bunch of strollers that were in our price range (wow those things are expensive!) and decided on one. It was a bit more expensive than a couple we were looking at, but I felt that he is the most secure in it, plus it folds up and down really easily and maneuvers like a dream. The only thing is doesn’t have is the cup holders and tray, but I figure that the times I’ll need those are a lot less than the times I’ll need one with a really nice fold and all and there’s a huge jump in price when you go for all the features. I think there are some you can add after the fact as well, if it becomes an issue.

I tried it out at the mall yesterday and it was amazing. So much easier to get open, easier to get him in and out of than the car seat (it has a convertible 5-point to 3-point harness, so you actually attach the over the shoulder straps separately, which means no fighting to get arms through), he’s comfortable, and it is wonderful to push around – comfortable and can turn on a dime.  He seemed to like facing forward and seeing everything (I’m not nuts about the fact that it’s harder for me to see him, but it’s simple enough to peek over and I can see his feet, so I can tell if he’s relaxed or upset or whatever) and he slept in it for a bit so it must be comfortable for him.

We are back to using cloth diapers! I forget if I mentioned it since it was sort of a non-event, but we’d been using plastic for a few weeks since the cloth we had were too bulky and were restricting his movements. He couldn’t bend his legs the way he was wanting to, and couldn’t sit as well because they came up too high on him and I just wasn’t happy with them once he started trying to coordinate his movements to roll over and stuff. A friend in the moms group mentioned a certain brand of cloth diapers to another mom and was saying that she likes them better than all her other ones, so I asked her about bulkiness and she said they were less bulky than her Bumgenius ones, which were the ones I found the least bulky as well, but they are really expensive (I got 5 in the bunch I bought used for cheap, but they’re all size small and he outgrew them) and I was hoping to find some used. Anyway, so they’re sold in a place about 20 minutes north of us so I went to check them out. The lady let me try them on him (over some thin pants) and he immediately stuck his legs up in the air, which he couldn’t do with the others we had. I bought a few and we’ve been trying them out.

Here’s the best part: They only cost $10-$12 each and come with two microfibre inserts! I also bought some bamboo inserts separately, which I use in addition to the microfibre when he’s going to sleep (he seems to pee a LOT in his sleep) or if we’re going to be out a long time, but mostly I use one microfibre (so it’s minimum bulk) and it can do him fine for over 3-4 hours in a pinch. I still try to change him more frequently than that, but it’s not like the other ones we were using that if I didn’t do it religiously every two hours, it was totally soaked. They also have a great fleecy layer that keeps him feeling dry (I know a lot of diapers have those, but these are more effective somehow) and keeps his skin nice so I don’t have to be quite as paranoid about the clock.

Anyway, so I’ve been having to do the wash every night because I bought enough for a day, but now that I know for sure we like them a lot I’m going to go back and buy a few more so that I’m not having to do laundry as frequently. I’m even considering trying them at night, which I have never considered since he stopped waking up every 3 hours so I could change him a lot during the night. Not sure if I can trust it to go for 7+ hours with such a heavy wetter, but I’m willing to give it a shot. If not, we’ll just keep using plastic at night and do the cloth during the day, which is okay with me.

He’s down for his afternoon nap now (obviously a few hours later than when I started this post), although he woke up after 20 minutes and is crying now. I’m trying to wait him out because he sounds whiney in his “I’m tired and want to fall asleep” way. He keeps sounding like he’s about to fall asleep and then wakes up and cries again. Silly boy.

I’m trying to think if he’s doing anything new lately. He’s sitting up more and more steadily and for longer periods of time before he’s tired and wants to lay down. He will not stay on his tummy anymore. I’m trying to get him to stay longer by giving him toys he can play with in that position, but then he seems to get frustrated and rolls over. I think he’ll probably start crawling from a sitting position to get a toy that’s out of his reach or to go after the cat or something, rather than doing it from being on his tummy. He loves his rainbow rings toy and can now rather dexterously (?) take them all off the post and throw them on the floor, which is an improvement over when he first got them. If he’s sitting away from his favourite musical toy and you turn it on, he looks over in amazement, like he’s trying to figure out why it’s singing.

While grocery shopping I noticed he has another tooth coming in. But it’s not an upper one like I was expecting, it’s at least one on the bottom, right next to the two that have come in. I couldn’t tell for sure if there was one on either side, but there is definitely one coming in on the (his) right side. All that time he was acting like he was teething and then he hasn’t for a while, and then poof, there’s a tooth. Strange child. And naturally he doesn’t he the two uppers like is typical, he has to do something different. I have no clue where he could have gotten that from. O:)

He is so much fun lately. He’s so cheerful and he laughs all the time. And he’s laughing for real now with those awesome baby belly laughs and he’s so interactive and he’s just SO. CUTE. He breaks out in huge grins the seconds he sees me, he shrieks with excitement, he laughs, he screeches.  He’ll often be playing in front of me with me behind him to make sure he doesn’t fall over and he’ll turn and look over his shoulder at me and give me this really big grin. Can’t take any more cute over here, we are all full up!

Leave a Reply

