I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

39w4d

MW appointment today. 2cm dilated, 60% effaced (more important at this stage), baby’s head fully engaged. She said she would not be surprised if I went soon, possibly before my next appointment (scheduled for Wednesday next week, the day MIL is hoping for since it’s her birthday — guess we don’t need to ask her what she wants for her birthday :P), but I’m not putting too much stock in that since I believe my friend was told that and then hung on another two weeks.

She offered to stretch my cervix for me, said she could stretch it to 4cm, but I declined. I was afraid it would hurt and make me crampy and since a friend and I were going to see a movie right after, I didn’t want to feel yucky for that, or being worried the whole time that I was going into labour in the theatre. Plus, I’m not that impatient yet and things are moving on their own, so I don’t really feel the need to artificially do what my body is already doing okay on its own. Maybe next week I’ll feel differently, but I didn’t feel the need for it yet. They offered last week too and I declined.

My blood pressure was up again, not in a bad range but high for me. Of course, we’d just been talking about labour, and I knew I was going to have the internal check which I never look forward to (well, I wanted to know the results, but not to actually have to have it done), so it could have been that. She’s not concerned but said to watch out for symptoms. I guess it’s not nearly as bad now as it would have been early on since I’m so close to the end anyway (no wonder it’s going up!).

Hmmm. My back has been hurting on and off for the past hour or so, similar to the tired feeling I get but more crampy than that. Less like it just needs to move or be supported better/differently and much more like a muscle thing…. kind of like a mild menstrual cramp but in the back. I’ve also been crampy and BHy a lot today, though not sure if I would say it’s more than usual. Obviously it could be the start of something…. or it might not be. I’m still bleeding from my exam earlier today, which is different than last exam where it stopped pretty quickly after and I only had a bit the next day the first time I went pee. It’s been light but there for most of today, not sure if that’s just because of the exam or if it’s my mucous plug or what. Interesting.

Yes, I realize these are all symptoms of labour, but it’s still too early and mild to really tell if it’s that or just…. whatever it is when it’s pretending to be labour. I googled it (of course) and it seems that sometimes it’s the start, and sometimes people have back pain and cramps and stuff for days before they actually go into labour, so no one’s allowed to get excited yet!

Hmm. I just had cramps, BH, *and* this back pain all at once. Not very intense, but all together at the same time. Interesting.

Comments on: "39w4d" (1)

  1. Sounds hopeful. I think it’s a good thing not to have the stretching. It doesn’t sound comfortable or natural. Sounds like things will progress on their own. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

