I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

37w4d

I took the day off work today since it’s my paperwork and planning day and since tomorrow is my last day of work, there isn’t a whole lot of planning I can do and I’d just be sitting around being uncomfortable at my desk killing time and packing up my desk, which won’t take that long anyway. I took a sick day (after confirming that it was okay with my supervisor, obviously) and I’m glad I did because I got to sleep in this morning, I got some phone calls made that I haven’t gotten around to yet, I got some more stuff organized in the nursery, and I took a nap. I am still feeling tired, but not nearly as much as previously. I was really uncomfortable this morning since baby was all up in my diaphragm and I felt like I couldn’t breath for most of the morning, but now I’m feeling better.

I had a MW appointment yesterday. I asked if he’s dropped and she said that he’s probably an inch into my pelvis, meaning he is on his way, but hasn’t fully done it yet, which is pretty much what I was figuring based on how I was feeling. Nothing much else to report from it. BP was a bit high at first (well, for me), but they took it again at the end of the appointment and it was back down so it was probably because I was talking (I had the student and the MW in the room, and I had just asked a question as the student started taking my BP) or something like that. I have another appointment on Monday so if it is going up, we’ll see it again then, but I don’t really anticipate anything. And at this point I’m not as concerned because I’ll be off work and it’s not a big deal if they want to induce since I’m so far along anyway. Not that I want that, but it’s not like they’re just waiting for me to reach 37 weeks so they can get that baby out of there, or needing to do it before or something.

I’ve noticed that my weekly emails mention something about reporting to your doctor if you don’t feel the baby move as much, and the MW student mentioned it as well (usually it’s just “are you feeling the baby move?”, which I do ALL THE TIME), which makes me wonder if there’s something they’re looking for. I’m not really sure I want to know if there’s a high incidence of problems happening at this stage, though usually all the informational things just love to tell you about all the perils your baby is in so maybe it’s just a precautionary thing, maybe there’s potential for cord problems or something? I’m feeling him moving quite a lot and I can usually trigger him to move pretty easily (just by leaning forward and squishing him… he really doesn’t like that!) if he’s not active at any particular moment so I’m not too concerned, it just caught my attention but I’m trying not to google anything because the last thing I need over the next few weeks when I’m at home and have too much time to think is to be concerned about that. Once again, very happy to have a wiggly guy even if it’s not always the most comfortable thing anymore.

The nursery is slowly turning back into a real room rather than just a storage room for all the stuff so it’s not all over the place. I decided to just dump all the larger sizes of clothes into a big bin we have and put it in the closet for easy access and then I can go through a lot of that stuff once he’s born and we have a better idea of what size he is. I still have a whole bunch of different sizes hanging in the closet, so that’ll make it a bit easier to know when he might be ready for a lot of them. I know that baby clothes aren’t all cut the same so just because he fits one in a particular size doesn’t mean he’ll fit everything, but if I tried to hang everything I’d spend his college money on hangers. Any of the clothes that I’m madly in love with I’ve hung up so that I won’t miss my chance for him to wear them (frog sleepers top this list!), but I figure so much of it probably won’t get worn anyway because there’s just so much of it. Also in that box are the winter stuff so at the very least I’ll be going through a lot of it when the weather changes. A lot of the stuff in the box is 6 or more months so chances are he won’t fit them for a while anyway, regardless.

We got some of our maternity pictures back from the photographer. Well, she put up an online gallery of a selection of them, so I don’t actually have them, but we can see some of them and she’s sending us a CD of all of them. I’m excited to see the rest because with our wedding pictures (same photographer, I forget if I mentioned that here or not), there were a bunch that she chose to print that I would have chosen others instead and there were so many good ones that we could never decide which ones we wanted to print. Which is not good since we have next to none printed out and none of them up on our walls or anything, but it’s good because we have so many great pictures. So I’m curious how many there are that she didn’t put up in the online gallery. I’m pretty excited to see the newborn ones as well, though I guess we’ll have to have a newborn and take the pictures first ๐Ÿ˜‰

I’m glad tomorrow is my last day of work, but I’m also sort of sad about it. I’m going to miss my clients. At the same time, I’m really looking forward to having some time off before the baby arrives (as I said, I’m hoping for a week at least) since I haven’t had a vacation since March and I won’t ever have a vacation again ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or not for a very long time, in any case. I’d like some time to relax and nap and take it easy before the real work starts. I’m looking forward to that as well, but I’m definitely going to enjoy the time I have left!

Leave a Reply

