I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

And the verdict is….

It’s a boy!

Unless they’re wrong πŸ˜›

I was disappointed for about five seconds and then they put him on the screen and he’s just so amazing and who really cares. And now I’m all excited for a boy and when I was talking to a friend last night about them being wrong and maybe ending up with a girl after all, I felt really sad. So it’s safe to say I’m cool with it πŸ˜› I’m actually more relieved about that than anything because I wasn’t sure I would get used to the idea that fast because I was really dead set on a girl. But now, not so much.

I thought for a while during the scan that we weren’t going to get to know because she asked if we wanted to know and I said yes, and then she said, “I’ll tell you if you can see it, but I can’t see anything so far” and then didn’t say too much for a long time. I was so scared because the not knowing has been killing me. And I’m just so happy to finally know and it makes it all so much more real and now I’m REALLY EXCITED! Up until now we’ve been happy and all, but hadn’t had any real active excitement about the whole thing because it just never felt that real. I didn’t expect this to make so much of a difference.

It could also be the combination of finding out we’re having a boy and a friend of ours having a baby boy on the same day that makes it feel real. Β In any case, wow!

Now I’m going over all the advantages of having a boy, like the fact that I can totally handle male fashion (whereas female fashion I’m clueless with), he can wear jeans all the time and no one will bat an eyelash (and then can be used for #2 when it’s a girl, should we be so lucky :P), don’t have to worry about fancy hairstyles that I won’t be able to do anyway, I can identify much better with cars and dinosaurs and other things boys tend to be into than with princesses and stuff that girls tend to gravitate towards, baby boy clothes are cuter than baby girl clothes for the most part, and I tend to go for frogs and ducks and bugs and stuff, which I guess are good for both anyway.

Yeah, totally stoked. The only problem is coming up with a name, which wouldn’t have been a problem for a girl since we had one chosen already, but have never been able to come up with a boy’s name we can both agree on.

And in other cool news, I’ve been feeling him kick a LOT yesterday since the afternoon and consistently in one spot and I finally had my husband around when it was happening and he got to feel it too! They’re still small, but they’re a lot stronger than they were, and I’m feeling them more consistently on the outside, but also on the inside.

It was neat yesterday afternoon, it was all over the place. Kick to the belly button! To the left! To the right! Up high! Down low! I could actually feel it travel across my belly at one point, going to the left. Right now it’s one kick here and then a few in the same place although not close together, and then a few over there, etc. so it’s easier to tell my husband to put his hand over and where to expect it. Though my belly is still small enough that he can cover it with one hand and I can cover with two so you’re feeling everywhere at once.

Last night I swear I felt him roll over. I rolled over and had the usual everything shifting around inside, and then a few seconds after that stopped, I felt this really strange sensation of something doing a somersault in there. Reeally weeeird feeling.

Oh. As always, in my excitement with sharing the BOY! news, I forgot to say that the rest of the anatomy stuff came back perfect, so no worries there. That’s good to know, although I wasn’t all that worried about that part and was more focused on the gender reveal, even though the anatomy stuff is a lot more important, obviously.

Leave a Reply

