I don't know how to tell you all just how crazy this life feels

:D

What a relief that that appointment is over! And if you can’t tell by the subject, it went well.

šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€ šŸ˜€

Luckily got my favourite ultrasound person (when I was in for monitoring, it was practically a different person every day and some were really nice and were fine explaining stuff to me and showing me the screen, and some were really tight-lipped and unfriendly — this was the most friendly one and the one who hurt the least with the internal part) and she put my mind at rest pretty much immediately when I asked her “do you see anything?” after she’d been looking for a few seconds and she said that she could see the baby and the heartbeat.

And then I had to try not to cry for the rest of the time. Actually, who am I kidding? I’m still choked up every time I think about it.

So she did the external one, and then I got to go pee (FINALLY!!!!) and then she did the internal and I got to see the heartbeat (though not hear it, which I think is because it’s so small still?) and see it in the classic pose from the side (which is the only way it actually looks like anything anyway, though it would have been cool to see all the rest of it too — my husband got to see it and said he couldn’t make heads or tails of most of it, but still).

Heartbeat is 170, which is good, and it’s measuring at 8w5d, which is one more day than I calculated. Obviously accuracy is a bit shaky at this stage when the difference of a few mm could mean several days or whatever and a lot depends on the skill of the technician, but still. It’s good, since if it’s measuring way behind that could mean bad things.

So, so far everything looks really good. I have to go back in three weeks, which will put me between 11 and 12 weeks (I thought they’d do it for the week after, but they seem to count forward more than I do, like if you’re 8 weeks and a few days, they count that as 9 weeks? That seems to me a bit like counting your chickens before they’re hatched, but they’re the professionals and I’m jaded so what do I know?) which is February 1st.

That’s an hour long appointment where I’ll have another u/s and some sort of consultation and… I’m not sure what else.

In any case, a huge relief and a weight off my shoulders. Not that it’s means anything’s guaranteed, but it certainly looks good at this point, and at least I know I don’t feel awful for no reason.

Oh, and there’s only one in there šŸ˜‰

Comments on: ":D" (1)

  1. […] year ago today I had my first ultrasound to confirm that there was in fact something in my uterus that might turn into a baby someday. I can […]

Leave a Reply

